CoVID-19 Resources & News

Close X
Stay Safe. Click on the link below to access:
a) COVID-19 resources especially for Sickle Cell Disease.
b) Videos, slides, an FAQ and FAQ from a COVID-19 Symposium we co-hosted recently.

CoVID-19 Resources & News

SickleInAfrica Consortium

The Sickle In Africa consortium aims to facilitate research in Sickle Cell Disease (SCD) and the subsequent translation of this research into healthcare and health outcomes. Sickle in Africa is made up of three initiatives : Sickle Africa Data Coordinating Center (SADaCC), Sickle Pan-African Research Consortium (SPARCO) and Sickle Cell Pan African Network (SPAN).

SPARCO: Multinational consortium which is coordinated from a hub at the Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Science. SPARCO aims to develop research capacity for SCD through a multidimensional approach which addresses infrastructure, education & training, provision of longitudinal research data and the translation of research into practise.
SADaCC: An administrative, data standardization and coordinating center for Sickle Cell Disease research and infrastructure needs. Its current mandate is to focus on supporting and coordinating data and communications for a partner research network, SPARCO with plans to expand this support to research groups within SPAN in the future.
SPAN: A network of researchers, clinicians, funders and centers working in SCD which aims foster research and infrastructure development.

Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), Guidelines and Templates

This platform provides Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), guidelines and policies developed by the Sickle Africa Data Coordinating Center (SADaCC) in collaboration with the Sickle African Pan African Network (SPARCo). SOPs, guidelines and policies help standardize data and procedures at the SPARCo sites in-order to improve data quality and adhere to ethical requirements of the project. A key aspect about this platform is that each member of the SADaCC and SPARCo consortium will be assessed how well they comprehend the SOP, guidelines and policies assigned to their job description before their can commence their duties as well as after every 6 months.

SOPs Booklet & Quizzes

Webinar (Online Event)

Title Date, Time and duration
SCSSN and NSHBT - Virtual Conference Thursday, June 25th, 2020
4:00 pm - 7:00 pm WAT / 11:00 am EST / 08:00 am PST
3 hours
Gene Editing Workshop Thursday, June 18th, 2020
3-7pm CAT, 4-8pm EAT, 9am-1pm EDT, 8am-12pm CDT, 6-10am PDT, 9pm–1am (SGT)
4 hours
Standards of Care developed by SickleInAfrica 29 April 2020
5PM (Tanzania); 4PM (Cape Town); 2PwM (Ghana); 10AM (Washington)
1 hour (5 mins logging in and introductions, 30-40 mins talk, 15 mins discussions)

Upcoming Online Meetings

Title Date of Meeting
SPARCO MC Thursday, August 6, 2020
Coordinators Meeting Friday, August 7, 2020
Skills & SOC WG Monday, August 10, 2020
ELSI Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Database & Research WG Friday, August 14, 2020

Upcoming Travel Fellowships

Title Deadline
5th SickleInAfrica Consortium Meeting - Travel Fellowship: Nairobi,Kenya Wednesday, February 5, 2020 (All day)

Upcoming External Opportunities

Title Application Deadline Submitted On
MRC/DFID African Research Leader scheme 2020 Tuesday, September 8, 2020 (All day) Wed, 06/17/2020 - 12:51
Joint Global Health Trials (JGHT) Call 11 – outline stage Thursday, October 8, 2020 (All day) Wed, 06/17/2020 - 12:47
NIH Data Science Initiative (DSI) - Africa Tuesday, November 24, 2020 (All day) Mon, 06/01/2020 - 13:09
ASH Global Research Award Monday, August 31, 2020 (All day) Fri, 05/29/2020 - 17:26
TWAS-NRF Doctoral Programme Friday, August 14, 2020 (All day) Mon, 04/27/2020 - 17:45

External Presentations/Invited Talks

Title Date & Time
Sickle Cell Disease Coalition (SCDC) Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 16:00